The One Clap Wonders.

Should I be grateful or insulted?

Petra Kidd
1 min readSep 12, 2024

--

Photos by Dean Drobot and wdragon

Everyone knows you can give 50 claps here, right?

I understand if you don’t particularly enjoy an article and opt out early, so you give a lesser number of claps as a sort of consolation prize. We can’t all enjoy every single article we click on.

An alluring headline may leave us discontented with the actual content, but we don’t want to leave the writer empty-handed, so to speak, so we give maybe 5, 10, or 20 claps to be polite.

However, a single clap comes across as a dismissive gesture, almost like an insult.

It actually feels like a slow clap of the type an audience gives a bad actor or politician who has fallen out of favour.

Or, should I be grateful?

I mean, a clap is a clap, and every clap counts, right?

At least someone passed through and made the click to clap.

Maybe I could liken it to ‘look after the pennies and the pounds will take care of themselves.’

One clap, combined with more claps from others, will still contribute to the grand total.

Should the occasional one clap offend me or make me feel grateful?

Please feel free to vote with your claps.

--

--

Petra Kidd

Photographer and Writer. I write short stories. I shoot, I write, I publish. Find me by the River Wensum.