The Leucistic Cormorant — Tales from the Riverbank

Petra Kidd
2 min readOct 19, 2023
Photos by @jimn at Getty Images

Cormorants are a regular feature along the River Wensum.

I remember the first time I saw a cormorant (or shag, as they are sometimes referred to). It was standing with its wings spread out, and from a distance (without my glasses), I thought it was a bird that had encountered an oil spill.

Later, I was told, cormorants spread their wings like that to warm their hearts in the sun. It seemed like romanticism to me, so I looked it up and found this fascinating article from the Independent. In brief, the cormorant spreads its wings wide in a crucifix-style pose to dry its feathers, which have to expel between 30 and 90 grammes of water from an average dive. Read the article; it explains the science in more depth.

Living by the river, I have had the opportunity to study cormorants a little more closely. A few weeks ago, while trying to spot kingfishers or otters, I spotted a couple staring at a strange white bird swimming in the river. On closer inspection, I saw that this bird looked and behaved exactly like a cormorant, but it was white.

I decided it might be an albino cormorant, even though its eyes were not pink. As is my way, I posted a video on X, hoping one of my bird expert connections could tell me what it was. The reply soon came, suggesting it was a leucistic cormorant…

--

--

Petra Kidd

Photographer and Writer. I write short stories. I shoot, I write, I publish. Find me by the River Wensum.