Photography Tips: How to Reach New Audiences for Your Photography.

Take note.

Petra Kidd
6 min readJul 25, 2024

--

Photos and design by the author.

Don’t get too hooked up on wall art. Excuse the pun.

Traditionally, photographers sell their prints as wall art in a variety of formats.

This is the preferred method for many, and I am confident that it will remain so in the future.

But of course, there are additional ways to sell your images.

Photographic prints can look appealing on many items.

Look at any print-on-demand site, and you will see a huge variety of product choices. These products are perfect for giving as gifts or for personal use.

It is advisable to choose carefully and adjust the photo to fit the items.

Many times, I have seen photographers on Redbubble simply plonk their image on all of the items without thinking about whether they look good on them. In fact, it can look terrible! It doesn’t do their work justice. They wonder why the items aren’t selling well.

If you are serious about selling your prints on products, the print-on-demand sites usually offer guidance.

  • Check your image resolution.
  • Make sure your photo’s size and quality correspond to the size of the item you plan to print it on.

--

--

Petra Kidd

Photographer and Writer. I write short stories. I shoot, I write, I publish. Find me by the River Wensum.