Photography Tips: Be Ever-Ready.

There is nothing more galling than to miss the perfect shot.

Petra Kidd
3 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Photo by igordabari

The only way to avoid missing the perfect shot is to always carry a camera.

Never has this been easier with phone photography and new lightweight cameras.

It may seem obvious, but I think many would-be photographers set aside time to do their ‘hobby’ instead of carrying it around with them.

My Canon EOS 70D is rather heavy and cumbersome to carry, so I don’t always have it with me, as it isn’t always practical.

But there is no excuse for me not to be carrying my iPhone, which has an impressive amount of camera technology packed into it.

Even if you do not possess the most recent smartphone, it does not matter; the majority of smartphones today are equipped with a camera that is least acceptable.

I am confident that with sufficient practice, you will be able to capture some great images using your phone.

What is the perfect shot anyway?

You can be sure that you will see the perfect shot the day you do not have any form of camera with you. To put it politely, it’s known as ‘Murphy’s Law’, to use a less sweary term than the one you’ve probably heard.

--

--

Petra Kidd

Photographer and Writer. I write short stories. I shoot, I write, I publish. Find me by the River Wensum.