Clouds as Rare as Hot Days in the UK.

Noctilucent or Cirrus Fibratus?

Petra Kidd
2 min readJul 21, 2024

--

Photo by the author @MyriadPhoto

For the past two days, Norfolk has enjoyed temperatures of up to 28 degrees. After a mostly wet, grey, and chilly summer, these blue-sky days have been most welcome.

I rarely manage our evening walk wearing a t-shirt and shorts, but last night was a night that I could.

Norfolk is known for its big skies, and as a photographer, I keep a beady eye upwards. As we approached Norwich Cathedral, I spotted these incredible cloud formations.

Sunsets are always more spectacular when they feature clouds. Whether it’s the sun peeping out from behind storm clouds, streaks of red, or the golden glow of outlines, they always add that uniqueness we photographers yearn for.

I am no cloud expert, and I certainly need to study them more.

Every night, I post a picture on X, so I posted the one above and asked my followers to name these clouds. The initial response was that they were noctilucent clouds. These are apparently extremely rare clouds that form on clear summer nights (according to the Met Office).

Another follower immediately chimed in, asserting that they are NOT nocturnal clouds. They were so adamant about it that they capitalized the word ‘not’. I took the account from an…

--

--

Petra Kidd

Photographer and Writer. I write short stories. I shoot, I write, I publish. Find me by the River Wensum.